Alabama Wide Receiver DeVonta Smith Wins Heisman Trophy

DeVonta Smith with Alabama in 2019. Photo by Kevin Langley/CSM/Shutterstock

Alabama Crimson Tide wide receiver DeVonta Smith was named the recipient of the Heisman Trophy for the 2020 season in a virtual ceremony held on Tuesday.

Smith became the first wide receiver in 29 years and only third non-quarterback in 15 seasons to receive the most prestigious award in college football.

Smith, who was also named The AP’s College Football Player of the Year, finished well ahead of the competition by receiving 447 first-place votes and a total of 1,856 points. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence was second with 1,187 points (222 first-place votes), while Smith’s Crimson Tide teammate Mac Jones took third place with 1,130 points (138 first-place votes). Florida’s signal-caller Kyle Trask was fourth, receiving 61 first-place votes and 737 points.

Although quarterbacks usually have the edge in Heisman Trophy voting, DeVonta Smith’s win doesn’t come as a surprise. Smith was the most dominant wide receiver in college football last year, and it wasn’t even close.

In 12 games with the Crimson Tide, Smith totaled 105 catches for 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns while adding one rushing score and punt return TD. He had six games with 100+ yards while also passing the 200+ yards mark twice.

Thanks to his college achievements, Smith is expected to be a top 10 pick in the 2021 NFL Draft. He is projected as the best wideout in his class and the fourth-best player available.