LSU Wins National Championship with a 42-25 Win Over Clemson

Joe Burrow (9) with LSU in October. Photo by Kevin Langley/CSM/Shutterstock (10450854bb)

Clemson entered the CFP national championship game against Louisiana State University on the longest winning streak in the nation, having won 29 games in past 741 days. However, this streak ended unceremoniously on Monday night with LSU claiming an impressive 42-25 win.

Clemson opened the game strong, scoring a touchdown on their first possession and then claiming 17-7 lead in the early second quarter. But LSU, fueled by their Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Joe Burrow, didn’t intend to give up without a fight. They rallied to score 20 unanswered points by halftime and managed to safely navigate to the program’s fourth national title.

LSU, however, couldn’t really relax until the very end of the fourth quarter. Clemson had a shot to cut into Louisiana’s lead with 10 minutes left in the contest, but Tee Higgins’ touchdown was voided due to offensive pass interference. Clemson tried to get back into the game once again, but their QB Trevor Lawrence fumbled the ball with four minutes left and allowed the LSU to run out the clock.

LSU’s win was highlighted by Burrow’s electric performance, who threw for 463 yards and four touchdowns while also running for one. The four passing TDs allowed him to set a single-season record for most touchdown passes in a single season with 60.

“You know, I think what we did tonight can’t be taken away from us,” said Burrow after the game. “I don’t know about the whole hero thing, but I know this national championship will be remembered for a long time in Louisiana. To do it in New Orleans is even more special. This is going to be remembered for a long time.”

After writing his name in college football and LSU history books, Burrow turns to NFL. He will enter the 2020 NFL Draft, where he is expected to be the first overall pick.