Mets’ Jacob deGrom, Rays’ Blake Snell Wins Cy Young Awards

Jacob deGrom with the Mets in 2018
Jacob deGrom with the Mets in 2018. Photo by Chris Szagola/CSM/REX/Shutterstock (9793835e)

New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom won the National League Cy Young award on Wednesday after a nearly unanimous decision by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

While the Mets haven’t been dominant this year, the 30-year-old has been one of the league’s best pitchers. He led the MLB in ERA (1.70), FIP (1.99) and home runs per nine innings (0.4). But as impressive as deGrom was, Washington Nationals Max Scherzer had an equally impressive season.

The 34-year-old hit a career-high 300 strikeouts with 5.88 strikeouts per walk. Phillies’ Aaron Nola also had an equally good year, posting a 2.3 ERA, the second best in the national league. The 25-year-old also had a .097, ranking him third. While great, 29 out of 30 writers decided to vote deGrom for the Cy award.

In the AL, Tampa Bay Rays’  Snell won the award with 17 votes, beating Houston Astros Justin Verlander who took the remaining 13 votes. While deGrom won the Cy Young honors with the lowest wins, 10, in a season, Snell won it with 21, the most since 2016. He logged a 1.89 ERA hit 221 strikeouts in 180 2/3 innings with a 9-2 record.