Mets’ Jacob DeGrom Wins Second Consecutive NL Cy Young Award

Mets' pitcher Jacob deGrom. Photo by Chris Szagola/CSM/REX/Shutterstock

The voters have spoken, and it’s no surprise that they chose to award this season’s National League Cy Young Award to the same man who won it last year.

Jacob deGrom, the sensational right-handed flame thrower who has anchored the Mets’ rotation over the past few years, won his second Cy Young Award based on the merits of his fantastic 2019 season.

The Florida native was excellent all season long, posting a 2.43 ERA and an 11-8 record along with 255 strikeouts.

Despite his mediocre win-loss record, which was the result of a Mets offense that simply couldn’t provide him with much run support, the lanky righty was dominant in nearly every start of the year. His upper-90s fastball with a devastating slider is simply too much for most batters to handle.

With his win, deGrom became the seventh pitcher in the history of the National League to take home the award in consecutive seasons. The last pitcher to do so was Max Scherzer, who won the award in the 2016 and 2017 seasons with the Washington Nationals.

deGrom is the second Mets player to have been awarded a trophy from the BBWAA this week, as teammate Pete Alonso won the NL Rookie of the Year Award on Monday.