Rivera, Halladay, Martínez, and Mussina Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

Mariano Rivera with the New York Yankees in 2009. Photo by REX/Shutterstock (920100g)

The Baseball Hall of Fame gained four new members on Wednesday with the elections of Mariano Rivera, Roy Halladay, Edgar Martínez, and Mike Mussina.

To qualify for the Hall of Fame, a panel of over 400 writers vote on candidates, and those that obtain 75% or higher of the vote are inducted.

Mariano Rivera, the legendary former closer of the New York Yankees, became the first ever Hall of Fame candidate to be voted in unanimously to the Hall.

The Panamanian closer has the Major League record with 652 career saves and he compiled a 2.21 ERA in a storied 19-year career. The quiet, unassuming relief pitcher now holds a baseball milestone that was never before seen.

Roy Halladay, who tragically passed away in an aviation accident in November 2017, was also inducted. The former Blue Jays and Phillies starting pitcher won 2 Cy Young Awards and won 203 career games.

Edgar Martínez was perhaps the best designated hitter to play the game, and he was elected to the Hall finally. The 7-time All Star hit .312 and belted 309 homers win the Seattle Mariners.

Finally, Mike Mussina, who pitched for the Orioles and Yankees, was also elected. Mussina was one of the game’s most consistent starting pitchers in the 90s and 00s, winning 270 career games.